BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community!

BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! (http://www.buildinghomes.ca/community/forums/index.php)
-   Ottawa (http://www.buildinghomes.ca/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Phoenix Homes - Cheasapeake (http://www.buildinghomes.ca/community/forums/showthread.php?t=16910)

Amiable 2011-05-16 04:13 AM

Phoenix Homes - Cheasapeake

Hey all,

So this is my first time purchasing a single home -ever- and this deal seems a little too good to be true?

Cheasapeake: 3543 - 3562 Sq. ft. 50 ft. lot, $499,000
http://www.phoenixhomes.ca/homes/hom...0Family%20Home

I mean, the Platina is smaller AND more expensive - This puzzles me. I figure there must be something horribly wrong with the Cheasapeake but I don't know what...

I know Phoenix often delays their closing time but I'm more concerned about the building materials, structural integrity, etc.

If anyone could help me out, I would be so grateful!
THANKS! : ]

good2know 2011-05-16 08:36 AM

The material they use for the building structure is the same as other builders use.

Yume 2011-05-16 10:21 AM

If you read the footnotes on the floor plan, the Cheasapeake reads:

Quote:

*Total square footage (4 Bedroom Elev. A) includes 574 sq. ft. of open space.
*Total square footage (5 Bed. Elev. A & B, 4 Bed w/2 Ensuites, Alt. 4 Bed. Plan) includes 346 sq. ft. of open space.
Whereas the Platina reads:

Quote:

*Total square footage (Elevation A and B) includes 54 sq. ft. of open space.
Also, the Platina seems to have a more sensible floorplan. The standard floorplan on the Cheasapeake is a bit odd.

Chatham 2011-05-16 10:29 AM

The Cheasapeake is a very nice home. I wish I had bought it myself. But it did not fit our budget then. I live in a Phoenixhomes built house myself and have little to complain about.

barrhaven 2011-05-16 10:53 AM