BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community!

BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! (http://www.buildinghomes.ca/community/forums/index.php)
-   Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance (http://www.buildinghomes.ca/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Tapping smoke detector for new lights/switch (http://www.buildinghomes.ca/community/forums/showthread.php?t=24500)

Patkura 2019-04-29 07:05 PM

Tapping smoke detector for new lights/switch
 
Electrician we are hiring to install new LED potlights on second floor suggests tapping into the smoke detector circuit for power (accessing from attic). Yes potlights will be 9v each and we will install 4 to 6 of them and a new switch will be fished and added from attic.

Any issues with this plan?

Thanks in advance!

GregS 2019-04-29 07:23 PM

I don't understand what you mean by potlights 9v each?

GregS 2019-04-29 07:24 PM

Also if this is a licensed electrical contractor who has a permit then it should pass inspection without issue.

Patkura 2019-04-29 08:07 PM

I mean they are low voltage, possibly 9watt?

Is there a public resource somewhere I can check for licenses? Website indicates hes a master electrician.

GregS 2019-04-30 09:31 AM

https://findacontractor.esasafe.com/

suezuki650 2019-04-30 11:14 AM

Recently I had to change out a couple of defective smoke detectors. They are interconnected hardwired detectors and one of the documents I read said they needed to be on their own circuit but I discovered that my basement lights were on the same circuit. I contacted the manufacturer for clarification and they said that yes all the detectors should be on the same circuit but that it was also good to have lights on the same circuit as that way you know you have power to them and that the breaker hasn't switched them off.

I don't know if all brands are the same, mine are first alert.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.