Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2008-02-15, 11:06 AM
mart242 mart242 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyingJay View Post
Fair enough, I stand corrected.

My engineering degree is in low-voltage components (DC circuits, electronics, computers) so my AC is a bit rusty :P
So is mine so that's not an excuse.

(I was corrected on some other board as well... that's why I now know!)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2008-02-18, 05:04 PM
GreyingJay GreyingJay is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kanata
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mart242 View Post
So is mine so that's not an excuse.

(I was corrected on some other board as well... that's why I now know!)
Heh. I heard someone say the other day, "the best way to learn something is to get it wrong and be corrected in a public forum"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2008-02-18, 09:29 PM
igracgq igracgq is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks Guys for the initial answer but just to clarify something (I'm an accountant so this area is not my strenght )

Does it mean that 100amp @ 240V (on different phases) is same as 200amp @120V? If yes, how can I upgrade to 240V instead of 120V? (which option is better when dealing about capacity issue as discussed in this post?)

or does it just mean if my breaker has 240V, its consuming 30AMPS instead of two 15AMPS breakers as per your oven example? so its just stronger current going to the appliance since the appliance requires it to function, but its taking more away from my 100AMP limit?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2008-02-19, 11:21 AM
GreyingJay GreyingJay is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kanata
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by igracgq View Post
Does it mean that 100amp @ 240V (on different phases) is same as 200amp @120V? If yes, how can I upgrade to 240V instead of 120V? (which option is better when dealing about capacity issue as discussed in this post?)
Every house gets 240 volts from the power lines, which are divided into two 120 volt "phases". Most appliances (your normal plug-in type with two or three prongs) run on 120 volts, and this is what you normally see throughout the house. A few special case appliances draw the full 240 volts (usually your stove and dryer). These use special plugs that are large and circular with four prongs instead of two or three.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2008-02-20, 01:48 PM
igracgq igracgq is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyingJay View Post
Every house gets 240 volts from the power lines, which are divided into two 120 volt "phases". Most appliances (your normal plug-in type with two or three prongs) run on 120 volts, and this is what you normally see throughout the house. A few special case appliances draw the full 240 volts (usually your stove and dryer). These use special plugs that are large and circular with four prongs instead of two or three.
Oh I see now. How about those special plugs that carry 240 volts, do they have a different breaker or thicker electrical wire going to my electrical box in the basement?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2008-02-21, 11:39 AM
GreyingJay GreyingJay is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kanata
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by igracgq View Post
Oh I see now. How about those special plugs that carry 240 volts, do they have a different breaker or thicker electrical wire going to my electrical box in the basement?

Thanks
Yes, it's a thicker wire... and what you'll see in the breaker panel is that the 240 volt circuits are on a "double wide" breaker where two breakers have their handles pinned together by a metal bar.

Not sure where you are living now but have a look at the breaker panel, you should see it's the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2008-02-21, 08:18 PM
mart242 mart242 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyingJay View Post
Yes, it's a thicker wire... and what you'll see in the breaker panel is that the 240 volt circuits are on a "double wide" breaker where two breakers have their handles pinned together by a metal bar.
They are not necessarily thicker, it all depends on the current rating. I've got some 240V / 15A wiring in my house, it's regular 14/3..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Tax and Upgrade payment mato0107 Ottawa 6 2007-05-03 05:52 PM
200 Amp Service - Upgrade? SSMIMO Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 4 2007-03-21 04:07 PM
EnergyStar Upgrade. yuppy Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 10 2006-11-20 02:37 PM
Upgrade costs yyz Burlington 4 2006-10-05 03:00 PM
upgrade prices? couple Milton 10 2005-02-15 11:39 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.