Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > Ottawa

Ottawa For those in Ottawa, Kanata, Stittsville, Orleans, Nepean. Mattamy, Minto, Bridlewood, Cardel, Claridge, Braebury, Monarch, Barrhaven, Half Moon Bay, Fairwinds, Findlay Creek, Notting Hill, West Pointe, Stonebridge, Edinburgh Common, Uniform at Orchard-Stonebridge-Barrhaven and more!

Old 2011-05-16, 03:13 AM

Default Phoenix Homes - Cheasapeake

Hey all,

So this is my first time purchasing a single home -ever- and this deal seems a little too good to be true?

Cheasapeake: 3543 - 3562 Sq. ft. — 50 ft. lot, $499,000
http://www.phoenixhomes.ca/homes/hom...0Family%20Home

I mean, the Platina is smaller AND more expensive - This puzzles me. I figure there must be something horribly wrong with the Cheasapeake but I don't know what...

I know Phoenix often delays their closing time but I'm more concerned about the building materials, structural integrity, etc.

If anyone could help me out, I would be so grateful!
THANKS! : ]
Old 2011-05-16, 07:36 AM
Regular User

The material they use for the building structure is the same as other builders use.
Old 2011-05-16, 09:21 AM
Regular User

If you read the footnotes on the floor plan, the Cheasapeake reads:

Quote:
*Total square footage (4 Bedroom Elev. A) includes 574 sq. ft. of open space.
*Total square footage (5 Bed. Elev. A & B, 4 Bed w/2 Ensuites, Alt. 4 Bed. Plan) includes 346 sq. ft. of open space.
Whereas the Platina reads:

Quote:
*Total square footage (Elevation A and B) includes 54 sq. ft. of open space.
Also, the Platina seems to have a more sensible floorplan. The standard floorplan on the Cheasapeake is a bit odd.

First closing date: June 30, 2011.
Old 2011-05-16, 09:29 AM
Regular User

The Cheasapeake is a very nice home. I wish I had bought it myself. But it did not fit our budget then. I live in a Phoenixhomes built house myself and have little to complain about.
Old 2011-05-16, 09:53 AM
Regular User