Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2015-01-26, 09:15 PM
jokerstone jokerstone is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 86
Default Unable to control receiver from main floor

Hi

My current setup instructions:

Panasonic tc-50as540c (tv)
Harmony Ultimate (universal remote)
Onkyo tx-nr636 (receiver)
Smart rg 802.11n ADSL2 + Router, sr360n (modem and wireless router)

Receiver is under stairs and i thought based on specs of that specific harmony remote that i should be able to communicate with receiver somehow through walls.

Am I missing something? The rogers box and receiver is under the stairs in the basement with the harmony hub.
Advice?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2015-01-26, 10:37 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,171
Default

Is it not controlling anything?

Does it work when you are standing within 6' of it?

Did you program it correctly to work with the hub?


The Logitech stuff is usually designed to work within the same room.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2015-02-19, 10:51 PM
sandnsun sandnsun is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 33
Default

Save yourself some headaches (and money) and get one of these: Sewell BlastIR SW-29311 Infrared (IR) Remote Control Receiver Kit (Black). It's about $50 on amazon. We have everything hooked up under our fireplace and our tv mounted above the fireplace. We haven't had an issue with it. We have the rogers box and receiver hooked up and this has worked flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2015-02-19, 10:57 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,171
Default

What model Rogers box?
There are some that do not work right with repeaters because of the frequency the remotes use.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2015-02-20, 10:16 AM
sandnsun sandnsun is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 33
Default

We have the netbox 3.0. Works no problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10ft Main & 8 ft Second Floor s16 Building and Construction 25 2014-07-08 02:39 AM
Stone work done to main floor michel_01 Ottawa 11 2014-05-16 07:43 PM
Temperature Difference Between Main Floor and Second Floor TheGrudge Ottawa 71 2013-01-01 02:42 PM
Cold air returns on main floor PhilD Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 2 2012-06-11 11:24 AM
?? Main floor bathroom of oakrivercorner.. Freeman Ottawa 4 2009-01-24 11:19 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.