Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > Ottawa

Ottawa For those in Ottawa, Kanata, Stittsville, Orleans, Nepean. Mattamy, Minto, Bridlewood, Cardel, Claridge, Braebury, Monarch, Barrhaven, Half Moon Bay, Fairwinds, Findlay Creek, Notting Hill, West Pointe, Stonebridge, Edinburgh Common, Uniform at Orchard-Stonebridge-Barrhaven and more!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-10-03, 09:52 PM
danny_italia danny_italia is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 230
Default Electrical Layout / Running Wires through insulated walls?

Hi Guys!

2 questions for you:

1. Can Mattamy provide us with the standard layout for where electrical outlets will go? I sent an email just now to my CC but figured I'd ask to see if anyone was able to get this from them?

2. If you have a look at my master bedroom, I'm planning to put a TV on the left wall. I don't want any wires to show. I was hoping they place an electrical outlet in the middle of the wall and then I would simply run another outlet off this outlet but place it higher so it's behind the TV - Like what they do for the fireplace. I was also hoping to put in my own conduit so I could run A/V cables through it so u wouldn't see them hanging from under the TV.

Now my concern is, I just realised that this is an exterior wall which means there will be insulation behind the drywall. Does this become an issue?

---

What I'm thinking I might do now is have them add the outlet in center of the wall (behind where the TV will go), but this still leaves me with the issue of how I will run the video cable behind the drywall.

I'm asking because I know breaking the vapour barrier can become an issue.

__________________



Mattamy | Half Moon Bay - Phase 2 | Elm 'B'
Closing Date: July 29, 2014

Last edited by danny_italia; 2013-10-03 at 09:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2013-10-03, 11:32 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,182
Default

Do not expect an electrician to put an electrical outlet where you want it to go.
The only thing that may be on drawings is switch and light locations.
Electrical outlet locations are usually determined on site and done as per code requirements.
If you require an outlet in a specific location, that would usually be an upgrade through the builder.
If the conduit is done during construction it will not be an issue.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2013-10-04, 07:47 AM
BlkStnBerk2 BlkStnBerk2 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,131
Default

I'll echo Greg's post and say that it's to the discretion of the electrician based on code.

We had our builder add an outlet at six feet from the floor for the exact reason you speak of. We wanted a tv mounted without wires running down to the floor.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2013-10-04, 08:41 AM
Dellwoodking Dellwoodking is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 92
Default

I'd suggest paying for the upgrade and get it put exactly where you want. If they charge $300 to add the outlet, it's well worth it considering your the time you'll have to put in to get it installed after. Did they give you a price to do it through the builder?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2013-10-04, 09:02 AM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,782
Default

the other benefits of builder install is that you wont have a problem with circuit outlet count and/or the box being too small for a T intersection (3 x 14/2 wire)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2013-10-04, 09:20 AM
danny_italia danny_italia is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dellwoodking View Post
I'd suggest paying for the upgrade and get it put exactly where you want. If they charge $300 to add the outlet, it's well worth it considering your the time you'll have to put in to get it installed after. Did they give you a price to do it through the builder?
I actually just checked the book and it's not bad at all! $104!


Quote:
Originally Posted by GregS View Post
If the conduit is done during construction it will not be an issue.
My other important question would be - So i'll be getting the upgrade to have an outlet centered in the middle of the wall (behind where the TV will go).

I don't want the cable line and any other wires showing (HDMI, etc...) so I was wondering:

If i make a small hole at the bottom (near baseboards) and another hole behind the TV... Can i safely run the low voltage wires such as HDMI behind the drywall but not past the vapour barrier? So the cable would be between the vapour barrier and the drywall.
__________________



Mattamy | Half Moon Bay - Phase 2 | Elm 'B'
Closing Date: July 29, 2014

Last edited by danny_italia; 2013-10-04 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2013-10-04, 09:23 AM
BlkStnBerk2 BlkStnBerk2 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danny_italia View Post
I actually just checked the book and it's not bad at all! $104!

My other important question would be - So i'll be getting the upgrade to have an outlet centered in the middle of the wall (behind where the TV will go).

I don't want the cable line and any other wires showing (HDMI, etc...) so I was wondering:

If i make a small hole at the bottom (near baseboards) and another hole behind the TV... Can i safely run the low voltage wires such as HDMI behind the drywall but not past the vapour barrier? So the cable would be between the vapour barrier and the drywall.
Why don't you just get the pre-wire company to put the cable outlet right beside the electrical outlet?

That's what we did....

Alternatively, you could get them to run conduit from a regular height to where the tv is mounted so that the wires run in that conduit...
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2013-10-04, 09:25 AM
danny_italia danny_italia is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlkStnBerk2 View Post
Why don't you just get the pre-wire company to put the cable outlet right beside the electrical outlet?
Im not quite sure I understand what you mean by this? You mean behind the TV? If that's what you mean - it's because I'll likely have some sort of Digital box on the dresser/cabinet. If I put it behind the TV I'll have nowhere to rest the digital box.

In the end this is how i'd like it setup:

__________________



Mattamy | Half Moon Bay - Phase 2 | Elm 'B'
Closing Date: July 29, 2014

Last edited by danny_italia; 2013-10-04 at 09:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2013-10-04, 09:59 AM
BlkStnBerk2 BlkStnBerk2 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,131
Default

I'm not sure how you'll make your own conduit and run it behind drywall.

Why not get the builder to do this ahead of time?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2013-10-04, 10:02 AM
danny_italia danny_italia is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlkStnBerk2 View Post
I'm not sure how you'll make your own conduit and run it behind drywall.

Why not get the builder to do this ahead of time?
I think they want over $400 for something like this.

By conduit though all I was thinking of doing is what i said earlier... Make 2 small holes (which can be capped with one of those conduit faceplates) and running the HDMI cable between the drywall and vapour barrier.
__________________



Mattamy | Half Moon Bay - Phase 2 | Elm 'B'
Closing Date: July 29, 2014
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Electrical Outlet in insulated wall Essaarcee Building and Construction 13 2012-02-02 05:00 AM
Condensation on insulated foundation walls Hometech Building and Construction 9 2010-11-18 09:58 PM
Electrical wires behind Crown Moulding? DanThaMan Milton 3 2010-01-22 03:48 PM
Spray Foam Interior Walls. Any Concerns? Fishing wires etc addtemp Richmond Hill 0 2009-12-06 11:36 PM
3 different colored electrical wires homie27 Building and Construction 4 2009-07-20 01:33 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.