Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > Halton Region > Burlington

Burlington For residents of and soon to be residents of Burlington. Alton Village. Sundial, Fernbrook, Mattamy, Emery, Tribute, Valery, Legend Creek, Branthaven, Monarch, Thornwood

Old 2009-04-30, 09:52 AM
Regular User

Default tankless hot water heaters

Has anyone installed a tankless hot water system?
What has your experience been? Rental or purchase? Have you seen a gas savings and can you estimate it?

Thanks
Bart
Old 2009-04-30, 10:27 AM
Regular User

Default Water Heater

I was thinking of going with one but then I saw a segment on Daily Planet that estimated the payback period to be 20 years. They also claim that there are some problems if you run the hot water slowly. Apparently it needs a large flow to start the heating process. This is all from the show, I have no first hand experience with them.
Old 2009-04-30, 12:44 PM
Regular User

I've worked out the ROI to 4-6 years based solely on the fact that I will no longer be renting a unit. My estimated gas savings were 50$ a year (negligable). I think at this point it makes sense with all the rebates currently available but am worried about usability issues like you mention.

Bart
Old 2009-04-30, 07:00 PM
Regular User

We have a tankless water heater and we love it. Our issue was not running out of hot water when multiple people were showering. I hated bathing the kids and then filling my bathtub only to find cold water. The tankless takes about 30 seconds to heat and provides hot water on demand.
Old 2009-04-30, 09:32 PM
Regular User

thanks volga, do you rent yours or did you buy it?
30 seconds? that seems like a lot, is that similar to what you saw with the tank?
Old 2009-04-30, 11:55 PM
Regular User