Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-02-07, 03:45 PM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,782
Default Lower than Low Tech - Info Needed

So we are prepping a fam members basement for finishing.

I have a 500 foot role of Cat5e cable an I'm not sure what to do with it.

With everything wireless, what would I use this for?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2014-02-07, 04:16 PM
elo elo is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ontario/Ottawa
Posts: 105
Default

it's quite easy, posting on Used Ottawa/ Kijiji either sell or give away.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2014-02-07, 04:21 PM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elo View Post
it's quite easy, posting on Used Ottawa/ Kijiji either sell or give away.
Yes could do that, but I'm wondering if there are not things I should be using it for ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2014-02-07, 05:34 PM
Hobbes Hobbes is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vaughan
Posts: 195
Default

Maybe I'm old fashioned but I still prefer to hardwire whatever I can. Desktops, servers, game consoles, smart TVs, media streamers, etc.

It's still the most reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2014-02-07, 09:34 PM
R.F.D. R.F.D. is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Burlington (Alton)
Posts: 1,250
Default

I'm with hobbes I prefer hardwire where I can. As much as wireless AC is quite impressive the equipment itself and the hardware that utilizes has to be up to par. I still find that HD content that is not highly compressed is best suited for the gigabit network, as more devices begin to use the wireless device the more battle for bandwidth amongst them.

For the most part my home is wireless however I ran cables to key areas of the home i.e. home theatre in the basement, livingroom media area and our office.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2014-02-07, 10:13 PM
lex_rx lex_rx is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Ottawa
Posts: 630
Default

Hardwire where you can. You can also use that for DIY speaker cable, whole house audio, etc.

Cat 6 would be preferred but wireless would probably not be a lot better than cat5e specs in, say, five years.
__________________
Lex_Rx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2014-02-08, 05:56 AM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,782
Default

thanks for comments

so every location where there is a tv and/or computer? and how many plug ins would I put at each location?

what about at thermostat location?

Last edited by good2know; 2014-02-08 at 08:06 AM. Reason: add ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2014-02-08, 01:23 PM
BrianT's Avatar
BrianT BrianT is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario - Orleans
Posts: 3,146
Default

Another vote for hardwire but only if you have some type of demarcation area to connect everything to. For every TV/computer, you can put one connection. If it turns out you require more, you can just throw a network switch on there. Since cat5 can double for phone lines, figure out if you want to put a landline and put a jack there also.
__________________
Builder: Tamarack Homes
Location: Chaperal (Orleans)
House: Avon 4E
Moved In: April 10th 2010
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2014-02-08, 03:57 PM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianT View Post
Another vote for hardwire but only if you have some type of demarcation area to connect everything to.
the builder (sig audio) installed 5 in the upstairs all joined into a big white box which must be that? cable is also is in there

thanks all for the help
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2014-02-08, 01:34 PM
WellThatsLovely WellThatsLovely is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oakville
Posts: 770
Default

I also like hard wire... however, we have these: http://www.dlink.com/ca/en/home-solu...nect/powerline they're awesome!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mattamy New Release info needed koolk23 Ottawa 0 2011-08-25 08:38 AM
Tech Upgrades for Bristol RadDad Ottawa 19 2011-04-15 02:31 PM
Smart Tech homie27 Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 0 2009-06-23 11:41 AM
Markham Boxgrove - Daycare Centre info needed rizwan Markham / Thornhill / Vaughan 1 2008-12-19 05:00 PM
Info on appliance selection needed.... tctataryn Milton 1 2003-11-25 10:04 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.