Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2010-01-28, 08:02 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

I do this in Milton (a lot). Pricing would most likely be less than the $90.

Having Cogeco come to connect your TV cable will get you a single faceplate with a TV cable jack on it, no room for the other stuff. So whomever comes to do the rest (me) would have to replace that faceplate with one that has all the other stuff on it. I usually carry all of this stuff on the truck.

Contact me directly for any questions:

http://www.phand.ca/index.php?go=contact
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2010-01-29, 03:57 PM
GreyingJay GreyingJay is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kanata
Posts: 1,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homie27 View Post
you can do the same thing for the phone wires, exept you use RJ11 jacks and you only need two wires. you can ignore the others.
You can, but I recommend you don't. If you terminate everything with RJ45 you can still plug a phone line into the jack, but in the future if you decide you want another network jack there instead, you can do it with minimal change. Plus you never know what else you might use a CAT5 cable for. There are adaptors that run HDMI signals over CAT5 cable, for example.

If you're sure it'll only be ever used for a phone line, then you can save yourself a step, but the additional effort to punch in the other wires will take you only a few seconds longer.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2010-01-29, 05:42 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default

HDMI over cat5e eh? I have a PC that's connected to a router. is there a way i can plug a network cable from the wall in my family room (also connect to my router) into my HDMI port using this adapter and watch movies from my PC upstairs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyingJay View Post
You can, but I recommend you don't. If you terminate everything with RJ45 you can still plug a phone line into the jack, but in the future if you decide you want another network jack there instead, you can do it with minimal change. Plus you never know what else you might use a CAT5 cable for. There are adaptors that run HDMI signals over CAT5 cable, for example.

If you're sure it'll only be ever used for a phone line, then you can save yourself a step, but the additional effort to punch in the other wires will take you only a few seconds longer.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2010-01-29, 06:56 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homie27 View Post
HDMI over cat5e eh? I have a PC that's connected to a router. is there a way i can plug a network cable from the wall in my family room (also connect to my router) into my HDMI port using this adapter and watch movies from my PC upstairs?
Absolutely not.

HDMI over cat5 (or 6) requires a pair of them. Also each run needs to be pretty much within a centimeter of length of each other.

And it would be an either/or situation, not both. The cable is either used for HDMI or for network.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HMB people - who are you using for internet, phone and tv? Fernwater@HMB Ottawa 38 2010-06-29 10:54 PM
HMB people - who are using for internet, phone, tv, etc? Fernwater@HMB Ottawa 0 2009-06-16 12:01 AM
Phone, Cable and Internet nitu_752002 Burlington 3 2009-03-20 06:33 PM
Phone, cable and internet Eastland A Ottawa 2 2008-06-16 09:00 PM
Phone, Internet and TV waiting Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 14 2007-04-11 08:44 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.