Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-05-22, 11:51 PM
m & m m & m is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 96
Default Questions About The Wiring Panel

Hi all,

I am quite clueless about tv wiring so big apologies for the possible trivial questions. I need big help in understanding Satellite/Panel/TV wiring so here's the situation:

My home is built with the following spec for TV wiring:

CABLE OUTLETS: 3
SAT PRE-WIRE_four RG-6 coax pre-wire for future satellite dish.
INSTALLATION DETAILS: From panel in the basement to attic, out soffit. Leave 8' extra wire on exterior of home.


From the outside, I can see a wire. My first two questions are:

Question 1: Given that the spec states 4 RG-6 "four_RG-6 coax pre-wire for future satellite dish." Should there be 4 wires outside, I don't think I see 4.

Question 2: How do I hook the wire(s) to the satellite dish, especially if there are more than 1 to hook? I guess the result wanted is to have the satellite dish linked to the panel that will be distributed to all the 3 outlets inside the home.


From the inside, below are 2 photos of the panel in the basement. My remaining questions are:

Question 3: From the first picture there are 4 wires that are not connected to anything. What are they for? Are they the 4 wires stated in the spec? Where they come from? Where should they go/be hooked to to ensure proper wiring?

Question 4: In the 2nd picture, linked to the splitter is 1 cable to the INPUT and 3 to OUTPUT. My guess is the INPUT is linked to CABLE from the outside of the home. And the 3 output are to the 3 cables outlets inside the house. Is that right?

Many Thank.

M & M




Last edited by m & m; 2010-05-23 at 09:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2010-05-23, 10:58 AM
R_D_G R_D_G is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 403
Smile

Hi m & m.

My house is not built yet but I am going to wire my home for satellite connection in the same way that you requested yours to be wired. I'll take a stab at answering your questions.

1) There should be 4 RG 6 coax cables going to your satellite. Two per LNBF. These cables need to go to the input interfaces of a 4 X 4 satellite switch.
2) From the 4 X 4 switch distribute the RG6's to your receivers / PVRs.
3 and 4) The picture you are showing is that of a splitter used by cable companies (not for satellite). The four wires that are showing might be the ones going to the attic for satellite connection.

I hope this helps. Greg, any comments?

Regards,
R_D_G

Last edited by R_D_G; 2010-05-23 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2010-05-23, 11:01 AM
R_D_G R_D_G is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 403
Default

One more thing to add. If you are with Bell, they should provide you the 4 X 4 switch. If the the satellite provider you are with does not provide the switch, they are not that expensive and you can purchase one from any electronic store.

I hope this helps.

Good luck.

R_D_G
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2010-05-23, 12:44 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

The RG6 outside most likely will be for cable TV service from your local cable service provider.

4 RG6 lines prewired for a satellite dish would suggest to me that they are in the attic waiting to be pulled under a soffit to connect to a dish. This way you do not have the lines running up the side of your house. Note: It is doubtful your dish installer will go into the attic, they are not typically allowed to for insurance reasons. You may have to pull these out yourself at the proper location.

The Datacomm splitter you have there is for TV cable, NOT satellite. It is for TV cable. Do not connect any satellite equipment up to this as it could damage your receivers.

Your satellite service provider will install the appropriate hardware to get you up and running with your dish and receivers. They will install a multi-switch to handle the various feeds to each receiver.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2010-05-24, 12:46 AM
m & m m & m is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 96
Default

Thank you very much Greg and R D G.

I am quite clueless but I want to learn so, one more question. Will this be ok?

1) As stated by RDG, the 4 RG 6 coax cables from the attic will go to the satellite; Two per LNBF.

2) The other ends of those four cables in the basement currently loose (picture 1) will go to the input interfaces of a 4 X 4 satellite switch.

3) From picture 2 in my original post, I can unplug the 3 wires from my module 1-8 way splitter and link them to the output interface of the 4 X 4 satellite switch to direct the signals from the satellite to the 3 locations in my house where I have an outlet I can hook my receivers / PVRs to.

4) PVR / Receivers wired to the outlets in house

5) tada.

Thanks a lot again.

M & M

Last edited by m & m; 2010-05-24 at 12:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2010-05-24, 09:28 AM
R_D_G R_D_G is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 403
Default

Yup. That's exactly how I would do it. m & m.

RDG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2010-05-24, 11:54 AM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

Whomever your satellite installer is will do all of this for you and figure out which lines go where.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV panel mount help zzricezz Home Technology and Electronics 3 2009-10-19 12:53 AM
Anybody upgrading electrical panel ? Nikka Ottawa 12 2008-08-07 01:00 PM
Structured media panel? What can I use? Mark & Lynda Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 7 2008-03-25 11:33 AM
Flat Panel TV Stands Mallicks Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill 12 2006-11-17 11:07 PM
Circuit-breaker panel... John & Linda Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 6 2006-06-06 10:06 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.