Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-11-26, 11:52 PM
FaBCarnation FaBCarnation is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 71
Default home networking using cat5e

Hi

Can someone give some guidance... My house phone lines are pre- wired with cat 5e for all the telephone plates throughout the house, there is one drop in the basement that had went to the phone connection however we've decided not to have a home phone anymore. Are all the other lines that goes to the rooms on a switch? If so, if I were to hook that one wire into the router would I be able to get connection in the rooms?

Thank you
__________________
Carnation B
Mount Pleasant, Brampton



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2014-11-27, 12:14 AM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaBCarnation View Post
Hi

Are all the other lines that goes to the rooms on a switch? If so, if I were to hook that one wire into the router would I be able to get connection in the rooms?

Thank you
No. They are not on a switch. If only one drop to the basement then all the jacks are wired in series.
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2014-12-04, 01:34 PM
FaBCarnation FaBCarnation is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 71
Default using the line

Hi Thanks for the reply,

So if i were to crimp one line upstairs and hook the basement line to the router (router in the basement), will that work?

Thank you,
__________________
Carnation B
Mount Pleasant, Brampton



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2014-12-04, 03:22 PM
icecube icecube is offline
Junior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Don't think anyone can answer that question over the internet without knowing what the topology is.

If it is a straight wire from 1 room upstairs down to the basement, then yes.

I doubt phone jacks can be wired in series, if they are wired in parallel you need to find out where they all aggregate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2014-12-04, 10:23 PM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icecube View Post
I doubt phone jacks can be wired in series, if they are wired in parallel you need to find out where they all aggregate.
I used the term incorrectly. When I said series, I meant the wiring is run from one jack to the next to the next and so on, then one dropped to the basement. Although it's unlikely an entire house would be wired that way in which case there would be multiple drops. Because the OP said there is only one drop, it could be there are very few jacks (1 first floor, 1 second floor)and both are in the same end of the house the installer could of very well wired them together with one drop to the basement.
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2014-12-05, 01:45 PM
oakvillehomeowner oakvillehomeowner is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark & Lynda View Post
Although it's unlikely an entire house would be wired that way
My phone jacks were run with one cat3 cable pulled to all locations. Call it series or daisy chain, until the jacks were installed, it was one long uncut piece of cable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2014-12-05, 03:17 PM
FaBCarnation FaBCarnation is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks for the response... In the basement there was only one drop for the phone line, and I had another drop for a cat6 line i had asked for that went to the 2nd floor. I am assuming it is either series or theres a switch between the lines on the 1st and 2nd floor that joins to the drop in the basement. GOing to try to put a cat5e jack and test if it works over the weekend...
__________________
Carnation B
Mount Pleasant, Brampton



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2014-12-05, 04:37 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,160
Default

If you only have a single cable in the basement to support multiple phone jacks around the home, then I can probably guarantee you that you have daisy chained jacks and there is going to be a break in them somewhere. It will not be continuous as it is a giant pain in the ass to run them continuous.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2014-12-05, 08:37 PM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oakvillehomeowner View Post
daisy chain
THAT's the word I was looking for.
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2014-12-22, 01:37 PM
Frankie Frankie is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 47
Default

This may be a really dumb question, but I'm not particularly technologically-minded, so any insights you may have would be appreciated!

I recently had my design appointment, and there was an option to upgrade to cat5 or cat6 wiring, and I got to pick the point where there was a wall jack for it. My question to the design centre rep, which she confirmed, was "this is the wire that brings the internet into the house, to which I attach my modem?"

After speaking to a more tech-savvy family member, it seems that the cat wires are more for networking. Internet comes in on a phone jack or cable jack, and then the cat wires are for networking through the house.

I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around this, and think I'm missing a big piece of this puzzle. It doesn't make any sense to me that if this were for home networking that there would be only one plug. I'm planning on running everything off a wireless router, so hard-lined networking is of no value to me.

So, what do cat wires do?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home networking larry Ottawa 15 2013-07-26 06:15 PM
Networking question Mark & Lynda Home Technology and Electronics 4 2013-02-20 09:03 AM
Touchstone + Networking jebise101 Brampton 6 2010-04-19 02:08 AM
Cat5e or Cat6 lex_rx Ottawa 4 2009-09-09 11:00 AM
Cat5e - Where to buy? New Home Guy Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 4 2006-04-13 01:55 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.