Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2016-12-16, 07:18 PM
richyrich richyrich is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kanata
Posts: 149
Default Rogers ground loop?

Has anyone had experience with Rogers introducing a ground loop to their house i.e. annoying humming sound over audio equipment?

I recently got Rogers cable TV back (always had cable internet with them) and soon after install I noticed a new, annoying hum on the TV audio output which goes to my whole-home system. After eliminating a bunch of possible causes, last week I unplugged the co-ax from the Rogers box by chance and bingo, hum gone instantly, so the culprit is definitely the Rogers cable connection.

I picked up one of these and installed it near the cable box and the hum has gone but I'm wondering if there might be any other ill-effects and if the ground loop suggests something bad with the install?

Bear in mind I got "one of the bad ones" with the Rogers guy - I was out and he left the house with working TV but no internet which I had to sort when I got home. Very possible he screwed something else up at the same time - he seemed like he knew the bare minimum to get by. It's a pity because other times I've had really good guys - ability levels are SO hit and miss.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2016-12-16, 10:31 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,160
Default

On the side of your house or just inside your house where the service comes in they may have split it. One side goes to your modem, the other side goes to all of your TVs.
Is that splitter grounded to the house ground?
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2016-12-16, 11:37 PM
richyrich richyrich is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kanata
Posts: 149
Default

Thanks for the reply Greg. I'll have to go out and take a look - would an external splitter be some kind of additional plastic box on the wall?

I know there's two or three of the small metal splitters inside in the basement cabling box (where the modem and TV wall plates all connect) - might it just be split there and should any of those be grounded if there's nothing outside?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2016-12-17, 12:57 AM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,160
Default

It may be in the box outside or somewhere inside. It varies depending on the installer and site conditions.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Ground Sprinkler alymg Ottawa 21 2011-06-23 02:49 PM
Above Ground Pools Sapphire - Kanata Lakes Ottawa 4 2010-11-29 12:47 PM
Ground loop isolation DC3 Home Technology and Electronics 0 2010-11-19 01:25 PM
Ground Has Been Broken Jason & Katharine Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill 65 2006-05-30 10:32 AM
GGH breaking ground? ulisei Milton 6 2005-04-21 09:20 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.