Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2018-10-23, 04:54 PM
dvg dvg is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 187
Default Backup generator - unusual implementation

Wondering if I could provision my house to use a backup generator by putting a 240V outlet in the garage. Would be nice to keep power going to the fridge, furnace, water heater during a power outage. Here is what I have in mind...

In the event of a power outage, turn off the main 100A breakers, flip off any breakers that you dont want to provide power for, and plug a portable 240v generator in the garage into the garage outlet. Open garage door for ventilation.

A bonus is that youd have a 240V outlet for an electric vehicle in the future.

This would work in my mind but Im not an electrician. Id certainly consult an electrician before pursuing this.

Not sure if the breaker running to the garages 240v connection would work in reverse or if Id need some kind of special double throw breaker.

Last edited by dvg; 2018-10-23 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2018-10-23, 05:11 PM
dvg dvg is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 187
Default

After a bit more research it seems that the accepted method would be to put those critical utilities on a load transfer switch like this in order to eliminate the possibility of feeding into the grid.

https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.6...000789434.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2018-10-23, 06:14 PM
dvg dvg is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 187
Default

Now Im thinking I may as well just get the builder to put the water heater and furnace on the same circuit if possible, and just add one of these in-line:

https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.t...001061743.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2018-10-23, 09:06 PM
BartBandy BartBandy is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario/Nobleton
Posts: 1,642
Default

Furnace has to be on it's own circuit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2018-10-23, 11:07 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,160
Default

Water heater needs its own circuit.
Air-handler needs its own circuit.

Yes a transfer switch is what you need for those circuits.

Consult a company that puts in generators. Furnaces can be tricky items to run reliably on inexpensive portable generators because they put out crap quality power.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2018-10-24, 11:00 AM
dvg dvg is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 187
Default

Possible to put the well pump and the water heater on the same circuit, anyway? (forgot I even had to worry about the well pump, would be first house off of municipal water)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2018-10-26, 05:42 PM
xdarrylx's Avatar
xdarrylx xdarrylx is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Barrhaven, Ontario
Posts: 1,942
Default

Do you anticipate your power going out that much that you need a generator?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2018-10-29, 12:11 AM
BartBandy BartBandy is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario/Nobleton
Posts: 1,642
Default

I've been known to run my tankless gas-powered water heater with my big computer UPS during power outages before, so we could get a shower or whatever. Doubt it would run the furnace fan.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2018-10-29, 10:05 AM
suezuki650 suezuki650 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Half Moon Bay
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregS View Post
Water heater needs its own circuit.
Air-handler needs its own circuit.
If the water heater is gas, but has a power vent, would it still need it's own circuit? After the last power outage, I purchased a generator. I won't be tying it into the house systems, but will be plugging in things like my freezer, fridge and I was thinking my gas water heater. I didn't think the power vent would take much electricity.
__________________
Maplefield End since Aug. 2016
Half Moon Bay South Phase 4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2018-10-29, 12:24 PM
BartBandy BartBandy is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario/Nobleton
Posts: 1,642
Default

I know they didn't used to, and my water heater is on a shared circuit from the builder, but that may have changed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it necessary to get the Sewers Backup Insurance option? Nickel520 Ottawa 8 2012-07-27 12:21 PM
GARAGE OPENER ONSALE IN SEARS 275 2/3 HP with Backup BATTERY!!! jackura Ottawa 30 2010-12-08 01:26 PM
HOT -Craftsman Garage Door Opener (3/4HP Belt,2 remotes,keypad,battery backup) - $280 BrandonH Ottawa 26 2009-10-13 10:46 AM
Battery / Power backup nik003 Stouffville - Heritage Estates 16 2007-06-20 10:19 PM
lovely.... sewage backup gizmo Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and WheleríS Mill 15 2006-09-04 11:35 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.