Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-04-07, 01:38 PM
m & m m & m is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 96
Question Wiring A Video Intercom

Hi,

1) Basically I have pre-installed 2 16-gauge wires for the purpose of installing an intercom system.

2) The intercom I want to install have 6 wires receptacles for each of the indoor and outdoor unit
1.Code line
2. Audio wire, Call wire, Unlock Wire
3.Ground Wire
4.Video Wire
5.PS wire for intercommunication (what does PS stand for anyway?)
6.PS wire for camera

How should I wire the 2 16-gauge wires we have in our home to the 6 receptacles of the intercom system?

Thanks!

M & M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2009-04-07, 02:15 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

It's somewhat hard to answer any of these questions without knowing what system you have.

So you have 4 conductors, but you need 6?

Did the spec for the intercom system state you needed only 4 conductors of 16g wire? Did it specify that it has to be 16?
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2009-04-07, 03:21 PM
m & m m & m is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 96
Question

I prewired my home for future installation of the intercom system. I was told that 2 16 gauge would be good for future installation of such system.

I now see a system I would like to install. So, before buying it, I had a read at the installation instructions and what I saw was the 6 receptacles which made me wonder how to use the 2-16 wires to install that system.

The system is the one at sunsecurity (www.sunsecurity.com).

My guess/thought is that the two PS wires receptacles (intercommunication and camera) could be used with my 2-16 wires for the install. Not sure if it will work. Need confirmation or other way to install.

Or I simply need to chose an intercom system that requires only 2 wires which I've seen but clearly not my most preferred one ($$$).

Thanks!

M & M

Last edited by m & m; 2009-04-07 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video intercom system in ottawa m & m Ottawa 10 2010-07-27 07:05 PM
Security, Video doorbell, and Home Automation Hobbes Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 9 2008-03-07 09:23 PM
Video Door Bell skoobyroo Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 1 2007-09-11 03:54 PM
miltontrails - Fieldgate Video Clips - July 22, 2007 catacami Milton 0 2007-07-23 06:49 PM
Off topic but good video Rowdyruffboy Chit Chat 6 2007-02-11 07:56 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.