Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Building and Construction

Building and Construction General topics of building a home and the home construction industry.

Old 2009-11-06, 10:26 AM
Regular User

Default During construction - What to look for?

I have read people post about how during the time your house is being built, you should visit it often and monitor it.

What kind of major things should I be looking for, as I'm not really experienced with construction work.

Thanks in advance.

Old 2009-11-06, 12:45 PM
Regular User

I'll give you some examples from my two new-home experiences. On the first home they built an opening for 1 window where there should have been 2. I called and they were able to change the framing before the brick was laid so it was easier for them to fix.

On my second (current) home we peeked in the windows and noticed that the plumbing for our powder room came up through the floor when it was supposed to be in the wall, so again we were able to call the builder and tell them to fix it before the painting and ceramic where in, again saving them time/money.

All these sorts of things can be fixed later on, but if you catch them early it's just that much better for you, and the builder. After you have the keys to the house fixing things means time off from work for you so they can access your home. There will always be things that need to be fixed after you move in, but the smaller those problems are the better. The kind of things you find during construction are usually pretty major.
Old 2009-11-06, 02:16 PM
Regular User

I would recommend checking all the duct work in the house before the drywall goes up. We had an issue with kinks and holes in the ducts…. All this has to be fixed before the drywall guys come in because they don’t care what’s in ur walls. They are paid to just come in and throw up drywall!
Old 2009-11-06, 04:23 PM
Regular User

Quote:
Originally Posted by T.K View Post