Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-10-12, 06:32 PM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,621
Default switching ISPs?

Called Teksavvy today because I'm interested in switching my ISP provider.

I already have DSL service but sales dept. told me I had to be home on a Monday between 12 and 9pm because it MAY require a Bell technician or even TWO techs!! to come out? For what??

They weren't able to say why it "might" require a tech but someone would need to be there and they may not even show up if it's not required but can't tell me ahead of time.

Anyone have this problem when switching service providers?
and why would they need to come into the house?? Just mail me a package with login credentials and WAN settings!

why is it this hard?
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2012-10-12, 10:21 PM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,621
Default

OK. Doing some research I found out that they want to come out to install POTS splitter.

I don't require one to be installed in my situation so I may just go to work on "installation" day.

I just can't swallow Teksavvy's $95 activation fee. That's outright theft!
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2013-02-21, 04:07 PM
Raptor17 Raptor17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: BURLINGTON
Posts: 6
Default

Yikes that's robbery. I switched from Cogeco to Start communications. since my Start install occurred on the same day as the Cogeco cancellation i didn't have to pay any activation fee.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2013-02-22, 11:31 PM
jebise101 jebise101 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 144
Default

The activation fee is annoying and expensive but that fee is what Bell/Rogers charge teksavvy and teksavvy charges the customer, this is Bell/Rogers game to persuade customers from moving to third party ISP and continue to pay there ridiculousness prices with locked contacts. They say they don't charge activation fees because they make up for it every time you go over your bandwidth or get you locked in a contract.

I have had teksavvy for about 2 years now ever since they came to my area. The installation was easy and the one time activation charge was well worth the overall savings and 300GB cap. I ordered cable and I didn't need to stay home and no one came to my door, the rogers guy came did his thing at the demarcation point and when I got home I just had to hook up my modem and I was set. If you already have DSL with Bell and want to switch to teksavvy yours should be just as easy and no house visit should be required and all you would have to do is switch the modems. I can't say for sure for DSL because of dry loops and stuff but still think a house visit will not be required.

Teksavvy asked me if I had Rogers Internet (which i did) when i order and I wanted cable so I said yes, and this was the reason a house visit was not required because the house was already wired for Cable Internet. If I had DSL then a house visit maybe required.

Yes it cost more up front but you pay off the modem and activation fee within 6-8 months and after that its all savings plus no overage charges because of small limited bandwidth caps imposed by Bell/Rogers, teksavvy gives you enough bandwidth that an average house will never max unlike Rogers or Bell caps which i can max within 2 days.

PS Sorry if my English sounds broken or is missing words, just had a 13 hour shift and kinda brain dead.

Last edited by jebise101; 2013-02-22 at 11:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2013-02-23, 04:00 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebise101 View Post
The activation fee is annoying and expensive but that fee is what Bell/Rogers charge teksavvy and teksavvy charges the customer, this is Bell/Rogers game to persuade customers from moving to third party ISP and continue to pay there ridiculousness prices with locked contacts.
I'm not sure I understand the issue here.. Bell/Rogers has to send their technicians out to enable a service for someone else.. Why wouldn't they charge for that?
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2013-02-23, 07:18 PM
jebise101 jebise101 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregS View Post
I'm not sure I understand the issue here.. Bell/Rogers has to send their technicians out to enable a service for someone else.. Why wouldn't they charge for that?
They have every right to charge as long as its within reason they service charge is high and that's the problem.

But that being said, I will gladly pay a high amount for a one time activation charge to rid them from my house, which i have done 2 years ago and very happy with the decision.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2013-02-23, 07:57 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebise101 View Post
They have every right to charge as long as its within reason they service charge is high and that's the problem.
$95 is pretty cheap for a single visit for a telecomm technician.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet ISPs in Castlemore Crossing (Teksavvy?, Rogers?) Seuss Brampton 1 2011-07-19 03:11 PM
Switching to Rogers Dig. Cable? Mark & Lynda Home Technology and Electronics 20 2009-12-30 02:24 PM
Urbandale switching to R-2000 standard skipticum Ottawa 9 2007-07-26 12:06 PM
Switching Lots ckrego Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 9 2006-04-05 05:22 PM
Anyone considered switching house models? Craig & Sophie Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 1 2006-03-07 12:26 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.