Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Basement Finishing and Renovations

Basement Finishing and Renovations Has it been 2 years already? Time to work on finishing the basement into some extra living space.

Old 2014-08-19, 09:20 AM
Regular User

Default A question about wiring

I had an electrician in yesterday to wire my basement. He's licensed and he's getting a permit through the ESA. He's also the friend of a friend so I have faith in the guy.

When he left yesterday he said he was almost done, so I went and checked everything which looked pretty good to my eye. I mean, I've wired one basement before so I'm a pro, right?

The only thing he did that I wasn't a huge fan of, was he didn't drill holes in the studs that are on exterior walls. He instead ran the wires behind the studs. The studs are about an inch-and-a-half out from the wall and we used Barricade floor tiles on the floor, so there's a pretty good gap in behind the studs. I'll check it again tonight, but I think what he did was run the wire in behind, and then every second stud or so he brought the wire up a stud a bit, stapled it to the side, and kept going.

I'm probably the most anal guy on the planet so my instinct is to not be a huge fan of this. Having said that, it does look tidy and once things are spray foamed I can actually see this being safer than having it through the studs because the wire is behind the bottom plate most of the time. Who's going to accidentally hit the wire with a screw or a nail if it's located behind the bottom plate after all? At the very least, I haven't been able to see why doing it this way is bad, save for being a bit lazy maybe. It wasn't an "Oh come on!" moment when I noticed this - more of an "hmm....not sure that's how I would have done it, but I don't see why that won't work", moment.

Just wondering what the code requirements are for this and if there's any major disadvantage to doing it this way?