Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > Ottawa

Ottawa For those in Ottawa, Kanata, Stittsville, Orleans, Nepean. Mattamy, Minto, Bridlewood, Cardel, Claridge, Braebury, Monarch, Barrhaven, Half Moon Bay, Fairwinds, Findlay Creek, Notting Hill, West Pointe, Stonebridge, Edinburgh Common, Uniform at Orchard-Stonebridge-Barrhaven and more!

Old 2007-09-21, 07:55 AM
Regular User

Default When to list current home for sale

How many people on here with their current home for sale? We're contemplating if we should list our home now and have a longer possesion date or wait it out till spring when the market is better. I plan in using Grapevine and if in need to a renewal for re-listing it's $50.00 after 6 months.

I sold my first home in Smiths Falls '99 privately as well so I have some experience in it. It was a bit of a headache but well worth it. I just put a "For Sale" sign from Dollar store on my front yard with the brochure info in the mailbox and sold it in 3 weeks. At the same time I had a new job & travelling, bought a new home with Minto, engaged to be wed, dealing with lawyers, banks, wedding plans - argghhh the walls are caving in!!!

So this time I'd like to take it easy. Any feedback is appreciated.

Lovin' the community.
Old 2007-09-21, 08:50 AM
Regular User

Randall...
My home has been on the market for quite some time, so I can offer you some feedback that I have gotten from my agent.

It all depends where you are in Ottawa right now.

Barrhaven is a hot spot!

Homes in Barrhaven in the 200k-300k range are selling in days.

Homes in Barrhaven 400k and over... are selling in months.

Ours has been on the market for over 5 months...

Hope this helps!
Old 2007-09-21, 09:26 AM
Regular User

Talking

Randall, take a look at a few of the previous posts there is one topic dealing with this, I believe it was started by MishaNikki when she was trying to sell her house (which she eventually did) there is some usefull info.