Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > York Region > Stouffville > Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill

Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill For residents and soon-to-be residents of Mattamys On Main and Wheler's Mill.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2005-09-12, 10:33 PM
Kent Kent is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 567
Default Running Network/TV Cables

Anyone planning on trying to run any sort of extra wiring before Mattamy does the drywalling?

I'd love to be able to run Coax (for cable tv) and CAT5 (for computer networks) before they drywall, like I did for a buddy when he built his house.

Anyone heard anything about Mattamy and there policy on this?

KF
__________________
Kent & Christine Fraser
#7 Walter Sangster Road, L4A 0J8
Eldon 'D' - 4 Bedroom
MOVED IN!
http://www.thefrasers.ca/MOM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2005-09-12, 10:46 PM
miko1234 miko1234 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 953
Default

Mattamy does not allow you to run your own cables. They will sell you a package as part of the structured wiring package ($1955).

The sub-contractor they are using for that is daetechsystems (www.daetechsystems.com).

If you need more then the structured wiring package has, then you can work directly with Daetech for further wiring needs. We are working with them for fully distributed home audio in addition to Cat 5 and Satellite feeds.
__________________
Miko & Jason
http://jasonmiko.blogspot.com/
Stewardson A
2007...MOVED IN!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2005-09-12, 10:49 PM
Kent Kent is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 567
Default

Oh, I'm sure they would sell me a package...$1900 bucks? Wow..

Maybe I just need to have a little chat with the site super...*laugh*

Either that or just sneak in and drill all the holes I need in the attic and floor studs where I want to run cables to make it easier for one the drywall is up..

KF
__________________
Kent & Christine Fraser
#7 Walter Sangster Road, L4A 0J8
Eldon 'D' - 4 Bedroom
MOVED IN!
http://www.thefrasers.ca/MOM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2005-09-12, 11:17 PM
miko1234 miko1234 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 953
Default

You can also have Mattamy run conduit from basement to attic.

If I remember correctly, it is around $200 for that.
__________________
Miko & Jason
http://jasonmiko.blogspot.com/
Stewardson A
2007...MOVED IN!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2005-09-13, 07:17 AM
Kent Kent is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 567
Default

That one I already did! =)

$200 I can handle...*laugh*

KF
__________________
Kent & Christine Fraser
#7 Walter Sangster Road, L4A 0J8
Eldon 'D' - 4 Bedroom
MOVED IN!
http://www.thefrasers.ca/MOM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2005-09-13, 08:34 AM
m&m m&m is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 53
Default

We asked about running extra wires(cable..etc) at the sales center and Tony mentioned that if it was done in a "professional" manner and looks similar to the way the electricians have run the existing wires, chances are they would leave it and put up the wall without ripping out the extra lines.
__________________
Sagehill B
Wheler\'s Mill
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2005-09-13, 08:41 AM
Kent Kent is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m&m
We asked about running extra wires(cable..etc) at the sales center and Tony mentioned that if it was done in a "professional" manner and looks similar to the way the electricians have run the existing wires, chances are they would leave it and put up the wall without ripping out the extra lines.
That's exactly what I wanted to hear! =)

Time to start stocking up on cable from my electrician friends!

KF
__________________
Kent & Christine Fraser
#7 Walter Sangster Road, L4A 0J8
Eldon 'D' - 4 Bedroom
MOVED IN!
http://www.thefrasers.ca/MOM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2005-09-13, 08:47 AM
m&m m&m is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 53
Default

We are planning to do the same thing.....hopefully there is not too much security. That may pose the only problem.
__________________
Sagehill B
Wheler\'s Mill
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2005-09-13, 08:50 AM
Rowdyruffboy Rowdyruffboy is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 895
Default

how's the tubing running from attic to basement suppost to help?

Is it so you can run cable above the ceiling on the 2nd floor and through the floor in the basment for the main floor?
__________________
Mattamy home
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2005-09-13, 09:00 AM
Kent Kent is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowdyruffboy
how's the tubing running from attic to basement suppost to help?

Is it so you can run cable above the ceiling on the 2nd floor and through the floor in the basment for the main floor?
Yep, that's it exactly. Plus almost all of your cables come in to the basement (that's also where you would want to do your patch panels, etc) so it allows you to run new cables up to the attic for 2nd floor runs.

KF
__________________
Kent & Christine Fraser
#7 Walter Sangster Road, L4A 0J8
Eldon 'D' - 4 Bedroom
MOVED IN!
http://www.thefrasers.ca/MOM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cables Running Above Ground (From Lamp Posts) King Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 6 2007-10-10 10:35 AM
Interested in Running Dolley Milton 25 2004-09-22 11:11 PM
Running out of land? GregS Milton 7 2004-08-16 02:00 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.