Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > Ottawa

Ottawa For those in Ottawa, Kanata, Stittsville, Orleans, Nepean. Mattamy, Minto, Bridlewood, Cardel, Claridge, Braebury, Monarch, Barrhaven, Half Moon Bay, Fairwinds, Findlay Creek, Notting Hill, West Pointe, Stonebridge, Edinburgh Common, Uniform at Orchard-Stonebridge-Barrhaven and more!

Old 2013-03-04, 08:19 PM
Regular User

Default Ontario Housing prices - 20% overpriced!

Something I've been saying for a few years now. Nice to see someone else shares my views. I mean it's so obvious especially here in Ottawa.

One example, I could have purchased a NEW single family home on a 35 foot lot for 315k back in 2009. The same house just sold for 450k. Funny Money.

http://www.ottawacitizen.com/busines...034/story.html
Old 2013-03-04, 08:44 PM
Regular User

Www.greaterfool.CA
Old 2013-03-04, 08:56 PM
Regular User

People are still paying the prices so woohoo!
Old 2013-03-04, 10:20 PM
Regular User

Quote:
Originally Posted by xdarrylx View Post
People are still paying the prices so woohoo!
Not me. I bought a house in 2004 and 2009, the prices seem to have gone crazy the last half of 2009 to present. I'll stick with my 2000 sq foot town and 150k mortgage @ 2.1%.
Old 2013-03-04, 11:34 PM
Regular User

Started watching MLS/grapevine in January... Lots of homes for sale around fairwinds. Most if not all have lowered their prices and have been listed for quite some time. Just an observation...
Old 2013-03-05, 12:15 AM
Regular User

Ottawa is rarely mentioned in any of the overpriced real estate articles.
Although like you all mentioned the prices are up by 20-25% in the last 4 years.
Most of the percentage of the Ontario's number is contributed by Toronto downtown condos i guess.
Old 2013-03-05, 07:47 AM
Regular User

Define "overpriced."