Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Real Estate Questions

Real Estate Questions Planning on selling your home? Looking to buy a resale? Post your comments and questions here.

Old 2008-04-24, 02:18 PM

Question Negotiating the price of a new construction home

I'm new to the real estate market and have been looking for the right house. I have narrowed it down to a new construction house with a builder and model picked. I'm ready to put down an offer, but I wanted to know if it was possible to negotiate the price of a new construction house. I know it is possible for a resale home. I've read on other sites that it never hurts to try and that you would need leverage to do so.

Has anyone ever tried to negotiate the price of a new construction home? If so, were you successful? What did you use for leverage?
Old 2008-04-24, 03:01 PM
Regular User

Depends on the area you are in, whether its a buyers market or sellers market.
Old 2008-04-24, 04:11 PM
Regular User

it's far easier to negotiate additional upgrades than it is to get $ off the house. most price lists i've seen did not drop by 1% when the last gst cut went through (thanks for nothing stephen harper), so there should be some flexibility at the builder's office.
Old 2008-04-24, 04:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddassir View Post
Depends on the area you are in, whether its a buyers market or sellers market.
The place in particular is in the Milton, ON area. I would like to think we're in a buyers market, but I wouldn't know for sure.
Old 2008-04-24, 05:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by oakvillehomeowner View Post
it's far easier to negotiate additional upgrades than it is to get $ off the house. most price lists i've seen did not drop by 1% when the last gst cut went through (thanks for nothing stephen harper), so there should be some flexibility at the builder's office.