Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-10-30, 01:22 AM
raoul raoul is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 35
Default Gas Line Increase

In the Decour Center options there is an option to increase the Gas line from 3/4" to 1". I was wondering if this can be done after closing? thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2010-10-30, 08:05 AM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,854
Default

sure, but if your basement is finished or the gas line has a less then direct route to the furnace room, it could cost you more after the fact and or destrol alot of drywall.. My home for instance has the line enter the right side of the house in the garage. Travels over the ceiling and back down the wall in the basement... All in drywall. So it would be a nightmare to redo my line in 1" after the fact..

1" is only really needed if your planning to go tankless after the fact..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2010-11-01, 04:33 PM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,782
Default

suggest you speak to hvac firm about capacity

gas furnace, stove? 1 or 2 fireplaces? gas hwt, gas dryer?, gas bbq?, pool heater?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2010-11-01, 05:39 PM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,854
Default

Need to know what you plan to do in the future and the length of the longest run of pipe. I can give you an idea from my piping charts... Safe bet is 1" its not till you get into pool heaters that you would need much more then that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2010-11-01, 07:26 PM
raoul raoul is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 35
Default

TKG26, thanks for the feedback

I am planning to have a Gas stove range and a Gas Dryer for clothes, plus planning to have a tankless water heater probably in 3 years time. But after closing, it would just be Gas Stove Range, Furnace and Water Heater. Still have not yet fully decided on Gas Dryer.

As I understand, 3/4" gas line is for 3 purposes, Furnace, Water Heater and one more purpose, which would be Gas stove Range. If I would like to have a Gas Dryer then it is already beyond the 3 limit for the 3/4" line. Thus the reason for the inquiry.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2010-11-01, 08:12 PM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,854
Default

Gas pipe is sized according to total load and longest line in the system. A 3/4" line can do 3 or more it all depends on the inputs and lenght of pipe.

You should opt for the 1" line if the tankless is coming down the road. Tankless inputs are in the 180,000btu range. More then most furnace,waterheater and fireplaces combined!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2010-11-01, 10:47 PM
raoul raoul is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 35
Default

Hi TKG26, Thanks for the response. Cannot already change it thru the builder as my 10 days to make changes to the Decour Center Options has already elapsed. Thus, I was wondering if this still can be changed?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2010-11-02, 07:04 AM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,854
Default

oh yes, it can be changed. ITs done all the time.. We add gas pipe to homes that used to be electric or gas heated. And we upgrade lines when needed for tankless or poolheaters.. so yes it can be done after the fact...

It can be messy at times... just depends the layout of the home and the amount of pipe that gets concealed behind drywall.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2010-11-02, 06:18 PM
raoul raoul is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by good2know View Post
suggest you speak to hvac firm about capacity

gas furnace, stove? 1 or 2 fireplaces? gas hwt, gas dryer?, gas bbq?, pool heater?
thanks for your feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2010-11-02, 06:18 PM
raoul raoul is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario/Brampton
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TKG26 View Post
oh yes, it can be changed. ITs done all the time.. We add gas pipe to homes that used to be electric or gas heated. And we upgrade lines when needed for tankless or poolheaters.. so yes it can be done after the fact...

It can be messy at times... just depends the layout of the home and the amount of pipe that gets concealed behind drywall.
Thanks. That's good to know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urbandale increase mom2philip Ottawa 17 2009-10-31 07:29 PM
increase basement height Y&M Ottawa Area Houses For Sale 4 2009-10-30 07:03 AM
Increase 100 Amps to 200? sarcol27 Ottawa 34 2009-09-21 02:01 PM
Prices Increase?? Manhattan Ottawa 6 2009-02-01 05:36 PM
Stonebridge increase? Ben&Jerry Ottawa 14 2008-08-08 07:17 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.