Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-01-13, 08:35 AM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default GFI outlet making buzzing noise

Hi all, I have a GFI outlet in my ensuite. Its the one with the test and reset button on it. I noticed the other day it was making a very low buzzing noise. is this normal?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-01-13, 10:18 AM
donduck donduck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Default

Doesn't sound right. To be safe, buy a GFCI tester to make sure the wiring is done correctly.

https://www.amazon.ca/s/ref=nb_sb_no...ds=gfci+tester
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-01-13, 11:20 AM
suezuki650 suezuki650 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Half Moon Bay
Posts: 430
Default

One of mine was doing that. I contacted the builder and they sent their electrician to replace it.
__________________
Half Moon Bay South
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-01-13, 07:36 PM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,854
Default

turn off the breaker to it... Call a qualified electrician.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-01-17, 09:31 PM
Rottn Rottn is offline
Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donduck View Post
Doesn't sound right. To be safe, buy a GFCI tester to make sure the wiring is done correctly.

https://www.amazon.ca/s/ref=nb_sb_no...ds=gfci+tester

The test button does the same thing. Those testers are more for checking any additional outlets that are fed off the gfi outlet - (and should be gfi protected)

If you bought new and are <2yr old call your builder, if not call an electrician. Shouldn't be more than 1hr charge + parts ( they're around $20 for the part) it'll take 5 min but that's usually the minimum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-01-20, 07:15 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default

so its not something anyone can do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TKG26 View Post
turn off the breaker to it... Call a qualified electrician.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-01-20, 07:40 PM
suezuki650 suezuki650 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Half Moon Bay
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homie27 View Post
so its not something anyone can do?
If you are comfortable doing basic electrical work, you should have no trouble with this.
__________________
Half Moon Bay South
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-01-20, 07:55 PM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,854
Default

if you have to ask.. then you need a pro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-01-21, 10:23 PM
suezuki650 suezuki650 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Half Moon Bay
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TKG26 View Post
if you have to ask.. then you need a pro.
Everyone has a first time. I wouldn't add a new circuit but will change plugs and light fixtures. There was a time I had to do my first one. I'd taken some courses in high school but honestly there are some home maintenance books out there that will walk you through some electrical and some plumbing jobs.

I take a look at the instructions and if it's something that I'm comfortable trying then I take it on. I also make sure that I have options if I get partway through and decide it's too much. That involves calling a friend or calling a professional.
__________________
Half Moon Bay South
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-01-24, 05:06 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default

I've replaced a fan switch with one that has timers on it. I will buy one and see if it can install it. wish me luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about making a new roof gaetan8888 Building and Construction 6 2015-03-05 11:23 AM
HRV making weird noise!! Anyone else experience this? StrayCat Ottawa 10 2013-11-08 12:30 PM
Making one light switch two Cosmogrrl Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 24 2011-05-20 09:10 AM
Making a nursery... StrayCat Ottawa 17 2011-02-27 06:43 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.