Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Financing, Mortgages and Insurance

Financing, Mortgages and Insurance What options are best for you and your situation?

Old 2010-06-24, 08:50 AM
Regular User

Question deposits?

Hi all!

I am a newbie in every sense, first time home buyer so have never built either

My question is in regards to the builder deposits....
Seeing as how closing is about a year away, or would be for me anyways, what happens if your financing falls through because something happened?
Do you lose all monies paid to builder?

If this is the case I'm very afraid to go with a builder that wants 10 percent[ i'd be looking at around $60,000 } just in case.
I'm a very cautious and anxious person, yes i guess neurotic but I can't help it and who knows what can happen in a year....
thanks
Old 2010-06-24, 09:01 AM
Regular User

If you are not comfortable about your future financial states, don't buy new construction.
Old 2010-06-24, 09:04 AM
Regular User

I am asking a simple question- whether or not it is all forfeited. Its not that I anticipate anything but no one can guarantee the future
Old 2010-06-24, 09:08 AM
Regular User

Choose a reputable business who has been in the industry for a long time (ie, they are less likely to go BK).

Usually deals are subject to approval of financing and approval from your lawyer.

Choose a builder that has a good reputation from the people on this site. If you have a bad gut feeling walk away.

Old 2010-06-24, 09:12 AM
Regular User

Quote:
Originally Posted by momof4 View Post
Hi all!

I am a newbie in every sense, first time home buyer so have never built either

My question is in regards to the builder deposits....
Seeing as how closing is about a year away, or would be for me anyways, what happens if your financing falls through because something happened?
Do you lose all monies paid to builder?