Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > Ontario > York Region > Stouffville > Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill

Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill For residents and soon-to-be residents of Mattamys On Main and Wheler's Mill.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2008-09-27, 12:30 PM
LenD LenD is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default Powder Room light bars

Has anyone replaced the little light bars in their power rooms? I am replacing ours and notice that there isn't any junction box in the wall. It's just wires coming out of a small hole in the wall.

I don't really know much about the building codes, but I thought having some sort of box where lights/switches etc are installed would be standard code. Anyone know about this sort of thing before I call the Mattamy office?
__________________
Len
M.O.M.
SEO Friendly Responsive Web Design in Stouffville and Markham
Affordable Web Design by In Front Media in York Region
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2008-09-27, 01:43 PM
vinay vinay is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 117
Default

I think the junction boxes were only standard starting phase 3, but I could be mistaken. Before that you had to specify it as a paid upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2008-09-27, 07:58 PM
TomC TomC is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 256
Default

Had the same problem in our current house. Had to open up a hole, approx 1 foot by 1 foot, in the area of the fixture, install a cross brace (piece of 2x4 pependicular to and between two wall studs), then attach a junction box to the cross beam, seal up the wall, paint, etc. What a pain! We made sure with Mattamy that they include this -> for Phase 4 we're covered, but it sounds like you weren't that lucky..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2008-09-27, 08:15 PM
LenD LenD is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default

It just doesn't sound like its up to code. A light bar junction box as an extra? I plan on checking this out further with a couple of contractors next week and then with Mattamy.
__________________
Len
M.O.M.
SEO Friendly Responsive Web Design in Stouffville and Markham
Affordable Web Design by In Front Media in York Region
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2008-09-27, 11:56 PM
MaxJay MaxJay is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 343
Default

It's definitely up to code as the termination/connections for those bars are supposed to happen within the fixture (not that they always do).

As Vinay stated... they started making this standard midway through phase III. We originally had it on our list of upgrades and we recieved a credit after we asked about it after hearing that others (later in the phase) were getting it as a standard option.
__________________
Emily & Jason
Phase III Wheler's Mill
Laketon A
MOVED IN!

Last edited by MaxJay; 2008-09-28 at 12:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2008-09-28, 08:06 AM
jtjcb jtjcb is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario/ Ajax
Posts: 125
Default

we had it as an upgrade for ours- to include a J Box in every room.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2008-09-28, 09:47 AM
LenD LenD is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Chalk it up to being our first "new" home. I've had two homes in the past (not new ones) and have never encountered wires poking thru the drywall. Light bars included, there has always been a junction box. Perhaps they built homes better back then, or perhaps the original owners put the boxes in. Which is why I never dreamed they would install this way. Had I had any idea that it was an upgrade I would not have hesitated.

Regardless - the builders cost on those boxes are only buck or two and 5-10 minutes extra time on the part of the workers to do the "proper" install. Live and learn.
__________________
Len
M.O.M.
SEO Friendly Responsive Web Design in Stouffville and Markham
Affordable Web Design by In Front Media in York Region
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2008-09-28, 08:35 PM
Mom2BabyBoys Mom2BabyBoys is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: STOUFFVILLE
Posts: 281
Default

We changed all of our light fixtures include the bathrooms over the mirrors and we had no problems, except our kids bathroom the light wasn't in the center of the mirror Which we weren't happy when we seen it!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2008-09-28, 08:42 PM
LenD LenD is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mom2BabyBoys View Post
We changed all of our light fixtures include the bathrooms over the mirrors and we had no problems, except our kids bathroom the light wasn't in the center of the mirror Which we weren't happy when we seen it!
Were there junction boxes in the walls when you removed the builders light bar and if yes were you a later phase development?
__________________
Len
M.O.M.
SEO Friendly Responsive Web Design in Stouffville and Markham
Affordable Web Design by In Front Media in York Region
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2008-09-28, 09:32 PM
Mom2BabyBoys Mom2BabyBoys is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: STOUFFVILLE
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LenD View Post
Were there junction boxes in the walls when you removed the builders light bar and if yes were you a later phase development?
I just spoke with my husband about the junction boxes...And yes there is junction boxes in all of the lights... As I can remember the one room that we struggle with was my kids bathroom the junction box wasn't deep enough and it was a struggle to get all the wires in. We also notice depending on the light fixtures you buy some seem to be more complicated than others...Especially the one's with that darn chain...Oh boy I can still hear my husband whining in my ears!


I don't think that's an upgrade...Our previous home that we had built 5 years ago had junction boxes as we changed the fixtures as soon as we moved in. I don't see how that's suppose to be an upgrade from what I've heard and was told. I guess every builder is different and offer different services.
__________________



Last edited by Mom2BabyBoys; 2008-09-28 at 09:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powder Room Lighting Question EvrGrn Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 9 2008-08-12 08:59 PM
Should powder room have a floor register for heating/cooling? Randall Ottawa 2 2008-05-30 10:55 AM
Nile Laundry room & Front room over the enterance fiwe Burlington 29 2008-01-14 03:24 PM
Towel bars Mark & Lynda Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 7 2007-03-09 02:55 PM
Looking for a Light Kent Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill 2 2007-01-16 05:20 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.