Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2015-09-03, 10:56 PM
mc_ottawa's Avatar
mc_ottawa mc_ottawa is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Ottawa
Posts: 1,209
Default Electrical question

In an older home that we have, we have electrical wires (positive, negative, ground) going into our plugs. The outlets are older (not the Leviton stuff).

Everything seems to be connected properly and the plug functions fine (including the wire being properly grounded), however, when the plug is tested, it shows that there isn't a ground.

Anyone know if changing the outlet to the new Leviton style ones would solve the issue?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2015-09-04, 08:21 AM
good2know's Avatar
good2know good2know is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,787
Default

The ground circuit is multiple wire segments making a continuous circuit from the panel to each box, and from the box to the ground screw on a plug. There must be a break in the circuit somewhere and all downstream plugs will be ungrounded.

Do all your plugs show this? Is the panel itself grounded? Look for a wire going down and through the concrete floor. Try testing the tester.

Changing the plugs wont help unless you by accident fix the break.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2015-09-04, 08:42 AM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,186
Default

Just to be sure.. when you say older, you mean like 10 years? Or 60 years?
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2015-09-04, 08:14 PM
mc_ottawa's Avatar
mc_ottawa mc_ottawa is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Ottawa
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by good2know View Post
The ground circuit is multiple wire segments making a continuous circuit from the panel to each box, and from the box to the ground screw on a plug. There must be a break in the circuit somewhere and all downstream plugs will be ungrounded.

Do all your plugs show this? Is the panel itself grounded? Look for a wire going down and through the concrete floor. Try testing the tester.

Changing the plugs wont help unless you by accident fix the break.
Panel itself is grounded, and some of the upstairs plugs are grounded (showing two lights on the tester) whereas others show three lights on the tester, which doesn't necessarily mean that there is a break in the ground, but that something is 'off'. All the other plugs in the house are grounded it seems except for some of the bedroom ones.

Good to know that changing the plugs itself won't help...
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2015-09-04, 08:14 PM
mc_ottawa's Avatar
mc_ottawa mc_ottawa is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Ottawa
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregS View Post
Just to be sure.. when you say older, you mean like 10 years? Or 60 years?
House itself is nearing a century old. The wiring has been updated at some point in the last 20 years, but not all at the same time.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2015-09-04, 09:41 PM
TKG26 TKG26 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: HMB
Posts: 1,857
Default

Open it up. I am not an electrician.. but if the wiring was updated i believe it is or was ok to pig tail aluminum wiring with like 6" of wire. Which means you have 3 mechanical connections behind the receptacles (twisted wires with marretts) You could have a loose or broken connection giving you the broken ground code.



let us know.. post some pics

tester info:
http://www.thecircuitdetective.com/o...r_readings.htm

I think from your post you saw 3 lights on which could suggest open neutral or break.. again check connections.. The other issue could be that someone mistakenly wired a switch through the neutral side. (is that receptical controlled by a wall switch?)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical - Light Switch Question (no power) Carlisle Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 9 2013-04-12 12:28 PM
Electrical Question... arigold Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 6 2011-01-12 10:02 AM
Question about electrical jennifer1410 Burlington 4 2010-08-27 07:26 PM
electrical question aristapaul Milton 0 2008-07-24 03:58 PM
Electrical wiring question htsource Chit Chat 0 2008-07-20 11:21 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.