Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Technology and Electronics

Home Technology and Electronics To discuss the technology that is going into your home from planning, wiring, hardware and usage.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-12-02, 02:01 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default drill a hole into wall studs or screw directly into it

hi all, i'm going to mount a TV onto the wall using a mounting bracket. my question is, should I drill a hole into the drywall and wall stud then screw the bracket into the hole, or is ok to skill the drilling part and just screw the bracket into the wall and wallstud?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2012-12-02, 02:18 PM
jeffjc jeffjc is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 737
Default

If you are using lag bolts which I would suggest due to the weight. Then drill a pilot hole first.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2012-12-02, 03:48 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default

the tv is only 32inches. what are lag bolts? and what's a pilot hole? do i need to do this if the tv is only 32 inches?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2012-12-02, 03:55 PM
lex_rx lex_rx is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Ottawa
Posts: 630
Default

Pilot hole can prevent cracking the stud. I'd recommend drilling first and as other poster said, use a lag bolt. You'll never know, that 32 inch now may become 50 inch later.
__________________
Lex_Rx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2012-12-02, 04:12 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default

i'm going to use the bolts that came with the mounting bracket. is a pilot hole a shallow hole? how deep is it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2012-12-02, 04:56 PM
jeffjc jeffjc is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 737
Default

Google lag bolts and see if they are the same as what u have. Just don't use screws.

Pilot holes are holes you drill that your bolt will go in. Drill them as deep as your bolts and about half as wide as your bolts. Often the package will say what size of drill bit to use
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2012-12-02, 07:21 PM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,621
Default

Lag bolts are overkill and not necessary. Even today's 55" LED TVs are only 36lbs. (Samsung 7500). Check the specs for your TV to find the weight.

I mounted a 55" LED using four large shank, 3.5" wood screws. 3" into the stud, .5" drywall. A sufficient sized wood screw driven 3" into the stud will support up to 200lbs each x 4 is 800lbs. Predrill first.

If you use lag bolts you have a greater chance of splitting the 2x4 and weakening it ruining any chance of securing the mount properly.
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2012-12-02, 08:27 PM
homie27 homie27 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC/Vancouver
Posts: 2,001
Default

the package came with lag bolts and the instructions say to use them. so i guess i use a wrench to screw in the lag bolts (after drilling) since it doesn't have a spot to use a screwdriver? sorry folks, i'm not a handy man. I mean i have a couple of hands, but i'm not that good with them unless i'm using a squash racket.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2012-12-02, 09:05 PM
jeffjc jeffjc is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 737
Default

A socket wrench is the best for this. Use a stud finder to find the centre of each stud.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2012-12-02, 09:22 PM
Mark & Lynda Mark & Lynda is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 2,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homie27 View Post
the package came with lag bolts and the instructions say to use them.
Doesn't mean you need to use them. It's a universal kit.

Is your 32" heavier than you?

btw. The lags that come with the mounts have been known to snap on installation. Don't use them!
__________________
Mark

Last edited by Mark & Lynda; 2012-12-02 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
framers missed the wall studs when nailing the sheathing Davisville Building and Construction 2 2012-09-09 01:46 PM
Concerned with 2x6 Fastened Directly On Foundation SMC23 Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 3 2010-05-04 10:51 AM
Where to screw nails on the subfloor while contruction ? nannubaba Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 19 2010-01-01 08:51 PM
Hole in the foundation wall... has anyone seem this before? Green Grass Stouffville - River Ridge, MainStreet and Country Lane 6 2008-05-15 08:24 PM
They haven't fixed their screw-up yet...it's been a month! Coming to Milton! Milton - Hollybank 3 2006-08-27 09:34 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.