Go Back   BuildingHomes.ca - Building your community! > General > Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance

Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance General information on what to do with your new home. Garden, yard, driveway, basement finishing, and everything in between.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-04-08, 02:14 PM
Jenny1975 Jenny1975 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 558
Default Problems with garage door opener remotes

Hi all,

I have a 1/2HP chain drive Craftsman garage door opener, about 2.5 years old. It has two remotes and a keyless entry pad. Both remotes are very finicky in terms of the distance you must be from the unit before the door will open. Occasionally, it will work from the end of the driveway (maybe 20 feet), but most often I need to pull up as close as possible to the door and hold the remote close to the car windshield for it to open. Occasionally (like today), I had to get out of the car and stand outside the door for it to work. VERY ANNOYING and kinda defeats the purpose of have a REMOTE control. I don't think the problem is related to batteries since I've replaced them and continue to have the same issue with both remotes.

The keyless entry pad is equally iffy. I frequently need to punch the code several times for it to work. The keypad flashes, so SOME kind of message is being sent to the unit (granted, the buttons are a bit awkward, so there may be user errors at times, but certainly not all times).

Anybody have any experience with this? Could it be related to the antenna for the opener? I think there is a reception problem happening. Input is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2009-04-08, 02:33 PM
oakvillehomeowner oakvillehomeowner is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,864
Default

if your keypad is flashing, try hitting enter a second time - not sure why, but this works for me.

have you tried straightening the antenna wire on the opener?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2009-04-08, 02:56 PM
Hobbes Hobbes is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vaughan
Posts: 195
Default

I was finding I had to enter the keyless code twice to open ours. I now hit enter first to 'wake up' the keypad then enter my code and enter again. Seems to work reliably.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2009-04-08, 03:56 PM
BrianT's Avatar
BrianT BrianT is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario - Orleans
Posts: 3,158
Default

Where abouts are you now Jenny1975?

I found an old article that may explain your problem,

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2004/...in659343.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2009-04-08, 04:54 PM
Jenny1975 Jenny1975 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oakvillehomeowner View Post
have you tried straightening the antenna wire on the opener?
Yes, although it was already pretty straight. Maybe stripping a bit of the insulation off would help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianT View Post
Where abouts are you now Jenny1975? I found an old article that may explain your problem,

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2004/...in659343.shtml
I am in Ottawa (Orleans). I'm doubtful this is the issue since these openers are very popular and the problem would likely be well known/widespread. Maybe I just bought a lemon?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2009-04-08, 05:40 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenny1975 View Post
Yes, although it was already pretty straight. Maybe stripping a bit of the insulation off would help?
No, don't do that.

First, thank-you for not cutting off the antenae. This is usually the main reason why problems you describe happen. People cut off the antenae and then call me wondering why their remotes don't work too well anymore.

Second, batteries are the issue. As they die out you will need to be closer and closer to the opener for them to work.

Third, you may have something else in the area interfering with the frequency the remote is operating at. Do you have an alarm system that uses wireless sensors?
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2009-04-08, 07:04 PM
Jenny1975 Jenny1975 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 558
Default

I seem to recall the issue has been occuring ever since I bought the thing, in spite changing batteries, but it's hard to remember for sure as I only park in the garage during the winter.

No wireless alarm, however there are two motion sensing light fixtures on the exterior of the house, one of which is directly above the garage door. Could that be the culprit? The lights also have photocells.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2009-04-08, 09:01 PM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,193
Default

Photocells shouldn't cause any issues.

Metal door with no windows?


Someone called me with this exact same issue a few months ago (I didn't install it). When I got there it was a "brother-in-law special", which means it was installed very very wrong.

I cleaned up the wiring, affixed the unit safely to the ceiling and after that it appeared to function fine again.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2009-04-08, 09:41 PM
Jenny1975 Jenny1975 is offline
Senior Member
Regular User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 558
Default

Yes, metal door, no windows. This was a "single chick's nice and handy male friend special", but I helped out and he knew what he was doing, so I feel good about the installation. The hardwired control works fine and there are no problems with anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2009-04-09, 09:59 AM
GregS's Avatar
GregS GregS is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,193
Default

Try opening the door from the inside.

Once open, walk outside and to the next house.

Press the button on the remote.

If the door closes then it is entirely possible that it has something to do with the all metal door.
__________________
--
We do everything for
Audio - Video - Data - Security
For Your Home - For Your Condo - For Your Office

http://www.phand.ca/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Door Opener, which one? catacami Milton 7 2008-10-24 12:55 AM
Garage Door Opener from US csmfung Home Owner Tips, Upgrades and Maintenance 8 2008-08-05 03:00 PM
garage door opener level 204 Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill 3 2007-12-20 04:35 PM
Garage Door opener Ryates Ottawa 11 2007-06-28 07:15 PM
garage door opener - which one to buy? Mallicks Stouffville - Mattamy On Main and Wheler’S Mill 4 2007-04-10 08:57 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.



Copyright © PHAND Corporation
This document may not be used elsewhere without the expressed written consent of PHAND Corporation.
*** There is no association between this website and any builder. ***

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.